Whelen Motorsports

Brunnhoelzl Moves Closer To Title


Lead Keeps Building As Season Reaches Final Month

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - As the 2011 season enters its final month of competition one thing is certain - George Brunnhoelzl III is in the proverbial driver's seat in the quest for the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship.

After picking up his fourth win of the season last Saturday night taking the checkered flag in the Tri-County 150 at Tri-County Motor Speedway, the West Babylon, N.Y., native enters this weekend's Caraway 150 with a 154 point lead over Andy Seuss (1,875-1,721).

Brunnhoelzl already holds the record for winning the point championship by the largest margin of victory when he topped Seuss in 2009 by 180 points (2,385-2,205) and he is one win away from equaling his win total of five during that championship year.

Despite holding a lead that appears all but impossible to surpass in just three races, Seuss is not giving up.

"We always enter each race expecting to contend for the win and that is what we have to do these last three races," Seuss said. "If we can go out there and get wins then we will see what happens. George is having a great season and it will be hard to catch him this late in the year, but we are not going to give up."

Seuss enters this Saturday's race as the most recent winner at Caraway as he took the Caraway 150 checkered flag on Aug. 26.

Jason Myers has quietly moved up in the standings and now sits in third place with 1,652 points, 223 behind Brunnhoelzl. While Myers knows the title is all but out of reach, the Walnut Cove, N.C., driver is still working to catch Seuss for second place and sits just 69 points behind.

"We know the championship is out of reach but we are going to keep working hard to try and finish second this year," Myers said. "We have never finished that high in the points and that would be a great accomplishment for our team."

Myers has finished in the top-10 in the final point standings in every season but one, missing out in the first season of the Whelen Southern Modified Tour in 2005. His previous best finish in the final standings is fifth back in 2008.

Race Notes

Familiar sight: This will be the 37th NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race at Caraway, which is considered the home track for the tour.

Make Up Event: This race was originally scheduled for March 26, but due to heavy rain officials were forced to postpone to Oct. 1.

Hot streak: Andy Seuss enters this weekend's race winner of the last race at Caraway in August.

No repeat: There have four different winners in the previous races held at the speedway this season. Point leader George Brunnhoelzl III (3/13); Ted Christopher (4/23), L.W. Miller (7/1) and Seuss (8/26) have all collected wins.

Caraway Speedway will host two of the final three races on the 2011 schedule. Both Caraway Speedway events have been rescheduled due to rainouts. Tim Southers/NASCAR

Brinkley Wins Track Title

Brad Brinkley used consistent finishes and dedication to full-time competition to win the 2011 Late Model Stock track championship at Caraway this season. Despite not winning this season, Brinkley finished in the top-10 every time out to end the year with a perfect 17-for-17 mark.

Mack Little III finished second tied with Dan Moore with 664 points. Ryan Wilson and B.J. Mackey completed the top five.

Other champions will be decided after this weekend's events at the speedway.

Last Time Out: Brunnhoelzl III Wins At Tri-County

George Brunnhoelzl III's fourth with of the 2011 campaign moved him one step closer to a second NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship as he took home the Tri-County 150 on Sept. 24 at Tri-County Motor Speedway.

After earning the Coors Light Pole Award earlier in the evening, Brunnhoelzl led early on and the regained the lead from Jason Myers with a decisive pass on Lap 73. The 2009 tour champion put it on cruise control from there for his 10th career victory.

Brunnhoelzl stretched his lead by more than 10 car-lengths as the end neared, but just the second caution of the event came out with five laps to go to negate the significant advantage. The West Babylon, N.Y., native was able to hold off his Andy Seuss - his teammate - on the final restart to seal the deal.

Seuss settled for second followed by last year's Tri-County winner Burt Myers, Brandon Ward and Jason Myers in the top five. Tim Brown, L.W. Miller, Austin Pack Renee Dupuis and Frank Fleming brought home the top 10.

Up Next: The UNOH Southern Slam150

The next event on the schedule for the tour will be the make-up race at Caraway Speedway on Saturday, Oct. 1. The event was originally scheduled for March 26 when rain showers forced postponement of the event. Andy Seuss is the most recent winner at Caraway Speedway on Friday, Aug. 26.
Seuss will attempt to become the first winner of back-to-back races at Caraway since Brian Loftin accomplished the feat in 2008.