Whelen Motorsports

Day Is The New NWES Champion

NWES • October 16, 2017

Goossens Dominates, Scores Maiden Win

Alon Day was crowned NASCAR Whelen Euro Series Champion at Circuit Zolder at the end of an action-packed ELITE 1 Final 2 won by Marc Goossens (#90 Braxx Racing Ford Mustang) ahead of Frederic Gabillon (#3 Tepac RDV Compétition Ford Mustang) and Anthony Kumpen (#24 PK Carsport Chevrolet SS).

Day and Goossens started from the front row for a repeat of the duel that highlighted Saturday’s ELITE 1 Final 1 but it was Goossens who took the lead in the first turn, while Day had to settle for second. As soon as the cars crossed the start-finish line for the first lap, mathematically confirming Day’s title, the CAAL Racing box erupted to celebrate their first major championship in 41 years of racing history, but the Israeli kept pushing to deliver another win. Day tried to retake the lead, but eventually had to surrender to Gabillon for second and fell to fourth under the checkered flag.

"It is such an amazing feeling! We were trying so hard the past three years to win this title, we won so many races but never the championship,” said Day, who won his first NWES title after finishing second and third in the last two seasons. “Finishing the season like this is the sweetest thing i can ask. I am so happy for the CAAL Racing team, they did a great job all season long. We finally made it. I have no words right now."

With a dominant win in front of his crowd, Goossens reached the culmination of a progression that brought Braxx Racing to score the first NASCAR win in the team’s history in two years.

"It is an awesome feeling for this whole team here at Braxx Racing. If I look at what we achieved in the last year and a half Braxx Racing is a winning team now. I hope now we can keep building on this,” said the Belgian, who added a NASCAR win to his outstanding resume. “The series is putting a great show on if you take a look at the number of people here today. I have to thank Circuit Zolder as well for all the effort they put into this weekend. Thanks to all the Belgian fans coming to the track. I hope to bring the #90 back to the podium soon but now I need some rest. I had a lot of hard work in the last couple of weeks. I get away with a win in Laguna Seca last week in the IMSA series and now I am a NASCAR winner and I couldn’t dream of a better finish for this season. Thanks to Braxx Racing and especially to Jerry de Weerdt. I love this series and hope to be back next year to put up a great show."

Gabillon and Kumpen tried all they could to stay in touch with Goossens but in the second part of the race the Belgian was simply unstoppable and they had to settle for second and third under the checkered flag. Kumpen finished second in the points standings ahead of Borja Garcia (#6 Racers Motorsport Ford Mustang). Gabillon finished fourth.

Day finished fourth while Stienes Longin (#24 PK Carsport Chevrolet SS) took another solid top-5 and was crowned Junior Trophy winner. Borja Garcia (#7 Racers Motorsport Ford Mustang) ended up sixth and Lucas Lassere (#33 Mishumotors Chevrolet SS) sustained a lot of pressure in the battle for seventh and finished right ahead of Salvador Tineo Arroyo (#56 CAAL Racing Toyota Camry) who took second in the Junior Trophy. Eric Helary (#27 Alex Caffi Motorsport Chevrolet SS) and Wilfried Boucenna (#73 Knauf Racing Team Ford Mustang) rounded out the top-10.

Dario Caso (#8 Racers Motorsport Ford Mustang) took the race win the Challenger Trophy, while the overall trophy went to Marconi Abreu (#47 RDV Compétition Ford Mustang) despite hitting troubles in both the ELITE 1 races.

Next stop for the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series will be the December 8 traditional awards banquet at the NASCAR Hall Of Fame in Charlotte, North Carolina.