Whelen Motorsports

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour News & Notes: New Hampshire

NWMT • September 17, 2013

• Tour Returns To "Magic Mile" For F.W. Webb 100
• Coby Looks To Stay In Title Hunt At NHMS

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Sept. 16, 2013) - With just three races left on the 2013 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour calendar, this week's F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway could be defending champion Doug Coby's last stand.

Following last week's event at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway where Coby finished 14th and season points leader Ryan Preece celebrated in Victory Lane, the reigning titlist trails the challenger by 45 tallies heading into Saturday's event in Loudon, N.H.

Trailing by essentially one race's worth of points, Coby will look for the "Magic Mile" to once again deliver on its nickname.

Coby has reason for optimism, however. While Preece has had a decided advantage on Coby at the bullrings like Riverhead, Coby has performed much better at NHMS. The Milford, Conn., veteran has won the last two Whelen Modified Tour events at the 1.058-mile oval and has an average finish of sixth there in six races since he joined forces with the No. 52 Darling Racing team in 2011. Preece has just two top 10s at NHMS in that same time period, although he was third there in July.

On a smaller scale, Coby will look to become the first driver since Ted Christopher in 2004-05 to win three races in a row at NHMS, but his bigger picture goal will be to finish ahead of Preece and gain some ground in the standings. Anything can happen in the final two dates on the schedule at Stafford Motor Speedway and Thompson Speedway - and it often does - but Coby needs to hold serve this week at NHMS to have a realistic chance when the Whelen Modified Tour returns to Connecticut to close out the season.

RACE: F.W. Webb 100
PLACE: New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, N.H.
DATE: Saturday, Sept. 21
TIME: 12:15 p.m. ET
TV SCHEDULE: Live on Fox Sports 2
TRACK LAYOUT: 1.058-mile asphalt oval
2012 WINNER: Doug Coby
2012 POLESITTER: Donny Lia
EVENT SCHEDULE: Friday - Practice 10:10-11:45 a.m., Qualifying 5 p.m.; Saturday - Driver Autograph Session 9:15-9:45 a.m.

The Race: The F.W. Webb 100 will be the 12th of 14 races on the 2013 schedule and the second of two visits to New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

The Procedure: The maximum starting field is 38 cars, including provisionals. The first 33 cars will have secured starting positions based on two-lap qualifying. The remaining five spots will be awarded through the provisional process. The race is scheduled for 100 laps (105.8 miles) and will have a five minute break at or near the conclusion of Lap 50. The tire change rule is four tires, any position.

The Track: NHMS, a 1.058-mile slightly-banked asphalt oval, is the largest track the Whelen Modified Tour races at. NHMS has played host to the Whelen Modified Tour 58 times previously, the most of any facility outside of Connecticut.

Race Winners: There have been 18 different race winners at NHMS, led by Mike Stefanik with eight victories. Doug Coby is the defending winner of the F.W. Webb 100, and also won the first NHMS race this year.

Pole Winners: There have been 25 different pole winners at NHMS, led by Jan Leaty's six. Ted Christopher is the active poles leader with five. Mike Ewanitsko holds the qualifying record at 28.693 seconds (132.743 mph), set in 2001.

Preece Looks to Add NHMS to Wins List: With last week's triumph at Riverhead Raceway, Ryan Preece moved his NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour career wins total to nine among five different tracks. That list does not include a victory at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, however. That's not to say Preece hasn't experienced success at NHMS - he has four podiums and top-10 finishes in half of his 14 starts there - but the checkered flag has so far eluded the 22-year-old, who finished third in the tour's last trip to the "Magic Mile" in July.

Coby Can Join Exclusive Company: If Doug Coby is able to run his NHMS winning streak to three this week, he'll join some pretty select company. Only Reggie Ruggiero (1992-93), Mike Stefanik (1998), Tony Hirschman (1999) and Ted Christopher (2004-05) have won at least three races in a row at the "Magic Mile" since the facility opened in 1990. Ruggiero and Christopher share the record for consecutive NHMS wins as their respective streaks reached four races.

Christopher, Stefanik Share Track Wins Record: In the 24-year history of NHMS, two drivers stand atop the track's all-time NASCAR wins list: Christopher and Stefanik with 10 apiece. Christopher's 10 have been evenly divided between Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR K&N Pro Series East triumphs while Stefanik's tour record eight wins are complemented by a pair of K&N East victories.

Pitkat Quietly Having Career-Best Campaign: Although he is still searching for that first trip to Victory Lane, Woody Pitkat has methodically put together a very solid 2013 campaign that is trending toward the best of his career. Pitkat has registered seven straight top-10 finishes and is up to fifth in the championship standings, just eight points out of third place. Pitkat's best final points finish in six previous seasons mixed with part- and full-time competition was ninth in 2009.

Third and Final Live Broadcast: The F.W. Webb 100 will be the third and final live broadcast of the 2013 season for the Whelen Modified Tour. Coverage from NHMS on Saturday will begin at 12 p.m., on Fox Sports 2 with green flag slated for 12:15 p.m. To see if your cable or satellite provider carries Fox Sports 2, please go to the following link and click on the "Find the Channels" graphic: http://hmtk.co/1bMqNF0. The 2013 season finale on Oct. 20 from Thompson (Conn.) Speedway will be covered on a tape delay basis and air on Fox Sports 1 on Sunday, Nov. 3.

LAST TIME OUT: Riverhead
The 11th race of the 2013 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour season was contested at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway on Sept. 14. Here are some highlights of the Green Earth Technologies 200:
Ryan Preece overtook polesitter Timmy Solomito with 24 laps to go to sweep the season's two events at Riverhead. It marked Preece's third Riverhead win in a row and fourth overall.
The pole for Solomito was the first in his sixth career Whelen Modified Tour appearance. He went on to finish third in the event after leading the first 177 laps for his first career podium result.
Riverhead weekly competitor Howie Brode finished fifth. All six of his career top-five finishes in Whelen Modified Tour competition have come at Riverhead.
Four of the top five finishers (Preece, Justin Bonsignore, Solomito, Brode) in the event have run - or currently are running - weekly in Riverhead's Modified division. Only fourth-place finisher Woody Pitkat has not.

Following the F.W. Webb 100 the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will return to Stafford (Conn.) Motor Speedway for the fourth and final time in 2013 for the 41st Annual CARQUEST Fall Final on Sept. 28-29. Bobby Santos, Ryan Preece and Doug Coby have been victorious in the season's first three events at the historic half mile while Santos is the defending winner of the Fall Final, which is Stafford's traditional season-ending race weekend.