Whelen Motorsports

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour News & Notes: SNMP

NWSMT • October 02, 2013

Brunnhoelzl On The Brink Of Title

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Sept. 30, 2013) â€" The competition in the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour is fierce, but George Brunnhoelzl III continues the set the gold standard.

The driver out of West Babylon, N.Y., is closing in on his third consecutive tour title and fourth overall, having won championships in 2009, 2011 and 2012. He carries a 30-point lead over Kyle Ebersole into the G-Oil 150 on Saturday, Oct. 5 at Southern National Motorsports Park in Kenly, N.C. The event was originally scheduled for Sept. 21, but rain moved into the area following the completion of qualifying.

Should Brunnhoelzl claim his first career Southern National win and lead the most laps in his fifth start at the track, Ebersole will have to finish 13th or better without the benefit of leading a lap to keep his championship hopes alive. Burt Myers cannot lose more than one point to Brunnhoelzl to have a mathematical shot at the crown while Tim Brown will need to gain nine markers on the leader to stay in the hunt.

"We just focus on winning races and getting the best result we can in every race and allow the points to take care of themselves," said Brunnhoelzl. "We celebrate championships once the season is over."

The math says that John Smith, Jason Myers, Gary Putnam and rookie Luke Fleming are still alive for the title, but they practically need for Brunnhoelzl to not show up at Southern National.

Brunnhoelzl leads the Whelen Southern Modified Tour this season with three wins and nine top-five finishes in 10 starts. In four starts at Southern National, the driver of the No. 28 EPOX-Z/Oval Speed Chevrolet has three top-10 finishes including a fourth-place showing earlier this season in March.

RACE: G-Oil 150
PLACE: Southern National Motorsports Park, Kenly, N.C.
DATE: Saturday, Oct. 5
TIME: 8 p.m. ET
TRACK LAYOUT: .4-mile high-banked asphalt oval
2012 WINNER: Event not held
2012 POLESITTER: Event not held
EVENT SCHEDULE: Practice 1-1:25 p.m., Final Practice 3-3:25 p.m., Driver Autograph Session 5:45 p.m.
TRACK CONTACT: Louis Sparks, (919) 284-1114, media@snmp.com

The Race: The G-Oil 150 will mark the 11th event of the 12-race 2013 regular season schedule for the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour and the second time the tour visits Southern National. This event was postponed on Sept. 21 due to inclement weather.

The Procedure: The maximum starting field will be 26 cars, including provisionals. The first 23 starting positions will be based on two-lap time trials and the remaining three will be filled through the provisional process. The race will be 150 laps (60 miles) with a 10 minute break at or near the conclusion of Lap 75.

The Track: Southern National played host to four events in the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour history, from 2006-2008. It was closed from 2009 to 2011, before re-opening last year and becoming a NASCAR Whelen All-American Series track. Southern National has banking of 17 degrees in the turns and seven degrees on the straightaways.

Race Winners: Junior Miller won the first race in October of 2006, followed by Tim Brown’s victory in September of 2007, and Burt Myers in September of 2008 and March 2013.

Pole Winners: L.W. Miller won two poles at Southern National, while Frank Fleming earned the top spot in 2007. NASCAR Next driver Ryan Preece won the award during the tour’s first visit to the track earlier this year. Miller holds the track qualifying record at 14.251 seconds (101.046 mph), set in 2008.

Brown Aims For Another Top Five: Brown, one of only four active drivers to have started the previous four races at Southern National, will aim to turn in another solid performance at the .4-mile banked oval. His worst career finish at the track is third which he recorded earlier this year. Overall, Brown has one win, two second place finishes and one third-place finish in four races at Southern National.

Three For Myers?: Burt Myers is looking for his third straight tour win at Southern National in the G-Oil 150. The 2010 Southern Modified champion won on March 23 in the tour’s return to the track after taking the checkered flag on Sept. 13, 2008. With qualifying already in the books for this race, Myers will start from the pole position.

Looking Back: Southern National hosted the 2006 season finale that saw Junior Miller win the race to take the championship. He entered the race trailing Tim Brown by four points. Miller used lapped traffic with 17 laps to go to take the lead â€" and eventually the title, by six tallies under the old points system â€" away from Brown.

Andy Seuss won for the second time in three weeks at Caraway Speedway in the Zooland 150 on Sept. 28. The Hampstead, N.H., driver took the lead from pole sitter Burt Myers on Lap 63 and held off George Brunnhoelzl III down the stretch for his 14th tour career win and eighth at the .455-mile oval. With a third-place finish John Smith recorded his fourth straight top-five finish. Myers extended his all-time tour record with his 26th pole win.

NEXT TIME OUT: Charlotte
The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will close out its 2013 campaign on Thursday, Oct. 10 on the quarter-mile oval on the frontstretch of Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, N.C., in the UNOH Southern Slam 150. It’s the third time in four seasons for Charlotte to host the Southern Modified season finale. The race will be held following NASCAR Sprint Cup Series qualifying. Last season George Brunnhoelzl III started from the pole and won the race to close out his third tour championship.