Whelen Motorsports

Statistical Advance: Analyzing The TSI Harley-Davidson 125 At Stafford Motor Speedway


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 22, 2012) – The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will headline the racing action at Stafford (Conn.) Motor Speedway on Friday, May 25 with the TSI Harley-Davidson 125. Below is a statistical look at the performance of selected drivers on the Tour:

Selected Driver Highlights:

Eric Beers (No. 45 Horwith Freightliner/John Blewett Inc. Ford)

· Has two wins, nine poles and 73 top 10s in 173 career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour starts
· Has two poles and 19 top 10s in 38 career starts at Stafford Motor Speedway with a best finish of second in the 2008 Spring Sizzler.

· Finished 24th in the Stafford Spring Sizzler in April.

Jimmy Blewett (No. 76 John Blewett Inc./Ling Trucking Chevrolet)

· Has five wins, a pole and 28 top 10s in 88 career NWMT starts.

· Two of his five career wins have come at Stafford and he’s got 10 total top 10s in 25 appearances.

· Finished fifth at Stafford in the 2012 Spring Sizzler.

Justin Bonsignore (No. 51 M3 Technology Chevrolet)

· Has a win, three poles and 18 top 10s in 35 career NWMT starts.

· Has two poles and three top 10s in nine races at Stafford. Best finish at the track came last time out – sixth – in April’s Spring Sizzler.

· Has finished in the top 10 in 10 of his last 13 starts overall.

Ted Christopher (No. 36 AL-Lee Installations Chevrolet)

· The 2008 NWMT champion, he has 42 wins and 23 poles and 169 top 10s in 310 career starts. His 42 wins rank third all-time and his 23 poles are eighth. Has at least one win in the 13 previous seasons.

· Has 12 wins, four poles, 41 top 10s and 2,083 laps led in 77 career starts at Stafford.

· Is the winningest driver in Stafford history with 115 career triumphs across all weekly divisions and touring series. The latest came in NWAAS SK Modified action where he currently leads in points after three events.

Doug Coby (No. 52 Reynolds Auto Wrecking/Furnace & Duct Supply Chevrolet)

· Has three wins, four poles and 46 top 10s in 117 career starts.

· Won the 2006 and 2012 Spring Sizzlers and has a pair of poles and 11 total top 10s in 29 career starts at Stafford.

· Has 18 career NWAAS wins at Stafford across four divisions.

Donny Lia (No. 4 Mystic Missile Racing Dodge)

· The 2007 and 2009 champion, he has 15 wins, 15 poles and 57 top 10s in 116 career starts.

· Won this race in 2007 en route to the NWMT title and in 29 career starts at Stafford he has three wins, seven poles and 17 top 10s.

· Has won three of his nine races at Stafford with the No. 4 team, a stretch in which he’s finished seventh or better seven times.

· Was 14th in April’s Spring Sizzler at Stafford.

Rowan Pennink (No. 93 Monk Mechanics Hand Cleaner Chevrolet)

· Has a win and 36 top 10s in 75 career starts.

· Has 10 top 10s in 19 career starts at Stafford with a best finish of second on two occasions, both last year.

· Was 13th in the first trip to Stafford this year.

· Did not participate in the most recent NWMT race at Monadnock, breaking a streak of 73 straight starts dating to 2007.

Woody Pitkat (No. 11 Spectro Oils of America Ford)

· Has 19 top 10s in 56 career starts.

· A Stafford resident, he has posted six top 10s in 15 NWMT starts at his hometown track with a best finish of seventh in 2009.

· Has 59 career NWAAS wins at Stafford across three divisions.

Ryan Preece (No. 16 Diversified Metals/R.B. Enterprises Ford)

· Has four wins, nine poles and 36 top 10s in 70 career starts.

· Has a win, two poles and nine top 10s in 19 career starts at Stafford.

· Is the defending Stafford NWAAS track champ out of the SK Modified division, where he has six career wins.

Keith Rocco (No. 3 Cape Cod Copper/Silver Dollar Const. Chevrolet)

· Has four top-10 finishes in eight career NWMT starts.

· Has two previous appearances at Stafford highlighted by the best result of his NWMT career – third – in April’s Spring Sizzler.

· Has 38 career victories at Stafford, including 31 in SK Modifieds, and is a two-time track champion.

· The 2010 NWAAS champion has finished in the top four in the nation in each of the previous five years.

Bobby Santos (No. 44 Imperial Cars/Tinio Corp. Chevrolet)

· The 2010 NWMT champion has six wins, seven poles and 30 top 10s in 60 career starts.

· Has three wins, two poles and seven top 10s in 13 career starts at Stafford. Won this race in 2010.

· Finished 27th in April’s Spring Sizzler, but prior to that he had podiums in six of seven races at the track.

Ron Silk (No. 6 Reynolds Auto Wrecking/Schnitzer Chevrolet)

· The 2011 NWMT champion has eight wins, five poles and 55 top 10s in 100 career starts.

· Earned his first pole and first win at Stafford in this event last year and has 10 top 10s in 26 career starts there.

· Has been in the top seven in the previous seven races at Stafford, including fourth place in April’s Spring Sizzler.

Mike Stefanik (No. 66 Robert B. Our Co. Chevrolet)

· The 1989, 1991, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002 and 2006 NWMT champion.

· Holds NWMT records for most titles (seven), wins (71), poles (46), top fives (217) and top 10s (287).

· Owns NWMT Stafford record with 20 wins, 17 poles, 69 top 10s and 2,165 laps led in 88 career starts.

· Finished ninth at Stafford in April. His last win there was the 2008 Fall Final.

Todd Szegedy (No. 2 Dunleavy Repair/A&J Romano Const. Ford)

· The 2003 NWMT champion has 17 wins, nine poles and 98 top 10s in 156 career starts.

· Has four wins, two poles and 25 top 10s in 41 career races at Stafford. Last win was in August 2010.

· Finished 12th at Stafford in April.

Up to Speed:

· The 2012 season is the 28th for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.

· The 2012 schedule features 14 races at seven different tracks across four states.

· Defending NWMT champion Ron Silk won the 2012 season-opener at Thompson International Speedway on April 15. Ryan Preece was the polesitter for the Icebreaker.

· Doug Coby joined a select group of multiple Spring Sizzler winners when he took the checkered flag at Stafford Motor Speedway on April 29. Preece set the track record in qualifying prior to the event.

· Preece made it 3-for-3 in qualifying as he took the pole in track record fashion at Monadnock Speedway on May 12 and made the top starting position stand up as he led every lap en route to the victory.

· Following the TSI Harley-Davidson at Stafford, the NWMT will return to action on June 23 at Waterford Speedbowl.

At Stafford Motor Speedway:


· The Stafford Springs Agricultural Park opened in 1870. The current race track was originally used for horse racing, which gave way to automobiles after World War II.

· Stafford Motor Speedway became a NASCAR track in 1959 and was paved in 1967.

· Stafford is one of nine tracks that have been a part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program in each of its now 31 years of competition.


· The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour has held 103 races at Stafford since 1985. The NWMT has run there every year of its existence, except for 1988.

· The 103 all-time NWMT races at Stafford rank second only to the 117 held at Thompson International Speedway.

· There have been 31 different race winners at Stafford, led by Mike Stefanik’s 20 victories. Ron Silk won this race from the pole a year ago.

· There have been 40 different pole winners at Stafford, led by Stefanik’s 17. Ryan Preece set the track qualifying record in the first visit there this year.

· Three of the last five winners of the TSI Harley-Davidson 125 have gone on to win that season’s championship: Donny Lia (2007), Bobby Santos (2010) and Silk (2011).